Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
AFGROLAND > About us
Sign In



About us

The international research team brings together researchers from two European and one African institution, as well partners in the case study countries. The team is inter-disciplinary in nature, gathering academics, scholars and practitioners/policy-makers. It includes natural scientists, socio-economists, agro-economists, political scientists, anthropologist, and geographers.

The project is implemented in a participatory manner, with local research partners from Kenya, Madagascar and Mozambique. Through the International Land Coalition (ILC), the research consortium includes broad-based multi-stakeholder associations leading to direct uptake of the research results. Links with decision-makers will facilitate direct uptake of the results. The project will be implemented in close collaboration with the NEPAD Business Foundation, and will develop links with NEPAD’s Rural Futures think-tank and the Land Policy Initiative (LPI) of the African Union/UNECA/AfDB.

The project emphasizes user engagement and societal/broader impacts. Based on applied research, the results will be directly useable by policy makers and practitioners

Partner institutions

CIRAD (French Agricultural Research Centre for International Development), France; Ward ANSEEUW (Lead), Perrine BURNOD, Magalie BOURBLANC, Eve FOUILLEUX

CDE (Centre for Development and Environment, University of Bern), Switzerland; Peter MESSERLI, Bettina WOLFGRAM, Sandra ECKERT, Markus GIGER

University of Pretoria, South Africa. Johann KIRSTEN, Sheryl HENDRIKS, John ANNANDALE, Lorenzo FIORAMONTI, Camilla ADELLE

Malagasy Land Observatory, Madagascar, Rivo ANDRIANIRINA-RATSIALONANA

CETRAD (Centre for Training and Integrated Research in ASAL Development), Nanyuki, Kenya, Boniface KITEME

Universidade Católica de Moçambique - Facultade de Agricultura de Cuamba, Mozambique

ILC (International Land Coalition), Mike TAYLOR

NEPAD Business Foundation, Henri MINNAAR



Front, from left: Bettina Wolfgramm (CDE, University of Bern), Eve Fouilleux (CIRAD), Camilla Adelle (UP), Sandra Eckert (CDE, University of Bern and Sara Mercandalli (CIRAD). Back, from left: Sheryl Hendriks (UP), John Annandale (UP Plant Production and Soil Sciences), Markus Giger (CDE, University of Bern), Ward Anseeuw (CIRAD), Magalie Bourblanc (CIRAD), Perrine Burnod (CIRAD) and Michael van der Laan (UP). Absent from photo: Lorenzo Fioramonti (UP, GovInn) and Johann Kirsten (UP), Peter Messerli (CDE, University of Bern), Boniface Kiteme (CETRAD, Kenya) and other partners from Madagascar and Mozambique.

Funding partners

Agence Nationale de la Recherche, France

National Research Foundation, South Africa

Swiss National Science Foundation, Switzerland

AFGROLAND | Centre for Development and Environment (CDE) | Hallerstrasse 10 | CH-3012 Bern | Tel: +41 31 631 88 22
 © CDE, University of Bern | Imprint

Funding Partners


Markus Giger
Centre for Development and Environment
University of Bern
Hallerstrasse 10
CH-3012 Bern

Tel : +41 31 631 37 52
E-Mail: Contact form